Southwestern College

Southwestern College Governing Board’s and Superintendent/President’s Statement on Sexual Harassment/Assault.

The Southwestern Community College District Governing Board plays an important role in the growth and development of Southwestern College, currently the only public institution of higher education within South County. Comprised of five elected members and one student member, the Governing Board ensures that the District fulfills its responsibility to lead and serve its ever-changing communities.

To contact Governing Board members, you can email them or call the office at 619-482-6301.

According to the Community College League of California, the primary responsibilities of the Governing Board as a unit are to:

  • Set the policy direction
  • Employ a chief executive officer as the institutional leader
  • Act as a community bridge and buffer
  • Establish the climate in which educational goals are accomplished
  • Define legal, ethical and prudent standards for college operations
  • Assure fiscal health and stability
  • Maintain standards for good personnel relations
  • Monitor institutional performance
  • Lead as a thoughtful educated team

The Southwestern Community College District Governing Board Members

 Griselda Delgado Griselda A. Delgado -- Seat 1
Term: December, 2016 - November, 2020
Board President
 Roberto Alcantar Roberto Alcantar -- Seat 3
Term: December, 2016 - November, 2020
Board Vice President
 Leticia Cazares
Leticia Cazares -- Seat 4
Term: December, 2018 - November, 22
 Tim Nader

Tim Nader -- Seat 5
December, 2014 - November, 2018


 Nora Vargas 2017

Nora E. Vargas -- Seat 2
Term: December 2014 - November, 2018


 Student Trustee Rudolph Villegas

Rudolph Villegas -- Student Trustee 
Term: June, 2018 – May, 2019


 Superintendent/President Dr. Kindred Murillo Dr. Kindred Murillo -- Superintendent/President


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 12/7/2018 12:48:28 PM