Southwestern College

The San Diego Floral Association is sponsored by the San Diego Park and Recreation Department.
Founded in 1907, it is the oldest garden club in Southern California and the first organization allowed
to occupy quarters in Balboa Park.

The San Diego Floral Association presents a scholarship each year to a local college student studying a horticulture-related curriculum.

Roland K. Hoyt, FASLA (Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects) was a landscape architect and author of Ornamental Plants for Subtropical Regions, first published in 1938. This book remains a major reference volume for landscape architects and horticulturists in Southern California.

Roland Hoyt's most famous projects were the designs for Mission Bay and Presidio Parks. He was a leader in San Diego garden design and in the introduction of new plants for use in this area. He served as both a writer and editor of California Garden, and was a strong supporter of San Diego Floral.

Ethel Hoyt encouraged the development of flower arranging in San Diego. She personally arranged for many instructors to give lessons for the Association. She was one of the first nationally accredited Flower Show Judges and was instrumental in forming the Flower Arrangers Guild and the Judges Council.

The scholarship is given in Ethel and Roland's name. Proceeds from reprints of the Hoyt book help fund the Hoyt Scholarship.

Past Scholarship Winners:

Lucretia Trapero-Fabrega

Wyatt Hayes

Mark Valen
Pauline Moody

Pauline Moody
Jose Ivan Ramos

Lisa Jaquinto
Alicia Ximena Maldonado

Noemi Garcia
Britta Kuhlow

Noriko Mochida
Dania Ocampo

Edith Johnson
Angel Carrasco

Jodi Rosillo
Carlos Sanchez

Jennifer Hendricks

Richard Zasueta
Michelle Landis

Kathy Rollins

Last updated: 3/23/2016 3:19:30 PM