Southwestern College

In today’s highly technological society, the study of mathematics has become increasingly important, particularly to computer science. Mathematics is a study that provides a foundation for problem solving and logical reasoning skills. It includes arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and computer programming, etc. Mathematics is the science of numbers and their operations, interrelations, combinations, generalizations, and abstractions. In addition to college-level mathematics courses (numbered 100 or above) that will meet the lower-division needs of college transfer students, Southwestern College offers developmental courses consisting of arithmetic through intermediate algebra.

Career Options

Below is a sample of the career options available for the mathematics major. A few of these require an associate degree, most require a bachelor’s degree, and some require a graduate-level degree: numerical analyst, teacher, engineering analyst, systems analyst, operations analyst, casualty rater, technical writer, research assistant, statistician, and computer specialist. In addition, there is presently a great need for high school and college mathematics instructors with this area of employment continuing to grow as society becomes more technological in business, industry, government, and education.

Department Co-Chairs
Karen Cliffe, M.A.
E-mail: kcliffe@swccd.edu
Phone: (619) 421-6700 x5519 | Office: 320C

Sylvia Nadalet, M.A.
E-mail: snadalet@swccd.edu
Phone: (619) 421-6700 x5970 | Office: 320A

Faculty
Martha Carey, M.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5384 | mcarey@swccd.edu
Karen Cliffe, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5519 | kcliffe@swccd.edu
Philipp Diwa, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5931 | pdiwa@swccd.edu
Kimberly Eclar, M.S., M.Ed.| (619) 421-6700 x5954 | keclar@swccd.edu
Richard Fielding, M.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5870 rfielding@swccd.edu
Youssef Francis, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5932 | yfrancis@swccd.edu
Minerva Garcia, Ph.D. | (619) 421-6700 x5517 | mgarcia@swccd.edu
Tina Goldberg, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5523 | tgoldberg@swccd.edu
Pete Herrera, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5950 | pherrera@swccd.edu
Coryna Holcombe, M.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5515 | cholcombe@swccd.edu
AlexJuden, M.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5580 | ajuden@swccd.edu
Romina Tehrani Lingvall, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5532 | rtehrani@swccd.edu
Andrew Medin, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5874 | amedin@swccd.edu
Myriam Moody, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5951 | mmoody@swccd.edu
Sylvia Nadalet, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5970 | snadalet@swccd.edu
Maria Olivas, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5565 | molivas@swccd.edu
Miriam Mimi Rasky, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5871 | mrasky@swccd.edu
Nghiep Quan, M.A.T.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5956 | nquan@swccd.edu
Bohdan Rhodehamel, M.A.T.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5512 | brhodehamel@swccd.edu
Zahra Salehpoor, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5476 | zsalehpoor@swccd.edu
Carl Scarbnick, Ph.D. | (619) 421-6700 x5524 cscarbnick@swccd.edu
Bruce Smith, M.S. | (619) 421-6700 x5291 | bsmith@swccd.edu
Val Villegas, M.A. | (619) 421-6700 x5546 | vvillegas@swccd.edu

Last updated: 7/26/2018 1:40:46 PM