Southwestern College

In today’s highly technological society, the study of mathematics has become increasingly important, particularly to computer science. Mathematics is a study that provides a foundation for problem solving and logical reasoning skills. It includes arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and computer programming, etc. Mathematics is the science of numbers and their operations, interrelations, combinations, generalizations, and abstractions. In addition to college-level mathematics courses (numbered 100 or above) that will meet the lower-division needs of college transfer students, Southwestern College offers developmental courses consisting of arithmetic through intermediate algebra.

Career Options

Below is a sample of the career options available for the mathematics major. A few of these require an associate degree, most require a bachelor’s degree, and some require a graduate-level degree: numerical analyst, teacher, engineering analyst, systems analyst, operations analyst, casualty rater, technical writer, research assistant, statistician, and computer specialist. In addition, there is presently a great need for high school and college mathematics instructors with this area of employment continuing to grow as society becomes more technological in business, industry, government, and education.

Department Co-Chairs
Karen Cliffe, M.A.
E-mail: kcliffe@swccd.edu
Phone: (619) 421-6700, ext. 5950 | Office: 320C

Sylvia Nadalet, M.A.
E-mail: snadalet@swccd.edu
Phone: (619) 421-6700, ext. 5970 | Office: 320A

Faculty 
Martha Carey, M.S. | ext. 5384 | mcarey@swccd.edu
Karen Cliffe, M.A. |ext. 5519 | kcliffe@swccd.edu
Philipp Diwa, M.A. | ext. 5931 | pdiwa@swccd.edu
Kimberly Eclar, M.S., M.Ed.| ext. 5954 | keclar@swccd.edu
Richard Fielding, M.S. | ext. 5870, rfielding@swccd.edu
Youssef Francis, M.A. | ext. 5932 | yfrancis@swccd.edu
Minerva Garcia, Ph.D. | ext 5517 | mgarcia@swccd.edu
Tina Goldberg, M.A. | ext. 5523 | tgoldberg@swccd.edu
Pete Herrera, M.A. | ext. 5950 | pherrera@swccd.edu
Coryna Holcombe, M.S. | ext 5515 | cholcombe@swccd.edu
Alex Juden, M.S. | ext. 5580 | ajuden@swccd.edu
Romina Tehrani Lingvall, M.A. | ext. 5532 | rtehrani@swccd.edu
Andrew Medin, M.A. | ext. 5874 | amedin@swccd.edu
Myriam Moody, M.A. | ext. 5951 | mmoody@swccd.edu
Sylvia Nadalet, M.A. | ext. 5970 | snadalet@swccd.edu
Maria Olivas, M.A. | ext. 5565 | molivas@swccd.edu
Nghiep Quan, M.A.T.S. | ext. 5956 | nquan@swccd.edu
Bohdan Rhodehamel, M.A.T.S. | ext. 5512 | brhodehamel@swccd.edu
Zahra Salehpoor, M.A. | ext. 5476 | zsalehpoor@swccd.edu
Carl Scarbnick, Ph.D. | ext. 5524, cscarbnick@swccd.edu
Bruce Smith, M.S. | ext. 5291 | bsmith@swccd.edu
Val Villegas, M.A. | ext. 5546 | vvillegas@swccd.edu

Last updated: 10/4/2017 10:07:32 AM