Skip to page body Home About SWC Admissions Academic Programs Student Services Schools & Centers Faculty & Staff

Mathematics Department [Catalog]
In today’s highly technological society, the study of mathematics has become increasingly important, particularly to computer science. Mathematics is a study that provides a foundation for problem solving and logical reasoning skills. It includes arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, and computer programming, etc. Mathematics is the science of numbers and their operations, interrelations, combinations, generalizations, and abstractions. In addition to college-level mathematics courses (numbered 100 or above) that will meet the lower-division needs of college transfer students, Southwestern College offers developmental courses consisting of arithmetic through intermediate algebra.

Career Options
Below is a sample of the career options available for the mathematics major. A few of these require an associate degree, most require a bachelor’s degree, and some require a graduate-level degree: numerical analyst, teacher, engineering analyst, systems analyst, operations analyst, casualty rater, technical writer, research assistant, statistician, and computer specialist. In addition, there is presently a great need for high school and college mathematics instructors with this area of employment continuing to grow as society becomes more technological in business, industry, government, and education.

Mathematics Courses [Catalog]

Department Co-Chairs
Richard Fielding, M.S.
rfielding@swccd.edu

Alex Juden, M.S.
ajuden@swccd.edu

Department of Mathematics
Martha Carey, ext. 5384, mcarey@swccd.edu
Karen Cliffe, ext. 5519, kcliffe@swccd.edu
Richard Fielding, ext. 5870, rfielding@swccd.edu 
Minerva Garcia, ext 5517, mgarcia@swccd.edu
Tina Goldberg, ext. 5523, tgoldberg@swccd.edu
Pete Herrera, ext. 5950, pherrera@swccd.edu
Coryna Holcombe, ext 5515, cholcombe@swccd.edu
Alex Juden, ext. 5580, ajuden@swccd.edu
Andrew Medin, ext. 5874, amedin@swccd.edu
Romina Tehrani Lingvall, ext. 5532, rtehrani@swccd.edu
Myriam Moody, ext. 5951, mmoody@swccd.edu 
Sylvia Nadalet, ext. 5970, snadalet@swccd.edu 
Maria Olivas, ext. 5565, molivas@swccd.edu
Nghiep Quan, ext. 5956, nquan@swccd.edu
Mimi Rasky, ext. 5871, mrasky@swccd.edu 
Carl Scarbnick, ext. 5524, cscarbnick@swccd.edu 
Bruce Smith, ext. 5291, bsmith@swccd.edu
Patrick Staley, ext. 5521, pstaley@swccd.edu 
Val Villegas, ext. 5546, vvillegas@swccd.edu

Last updated: 3/8/2013 11:46:25 AM